Link to home page

Mogwai play Optimus Primavera Sound

Post-rockers are Porto bound (preview)

By • May 27th, 2014 • Category: draft

Mogwai continue their assault on the European festival circuit by appearing at Optimus Primavera Sound held in Parque da Cidade in Porto, north Portugal.

Having appeared several times at the original Primavera Sound festival in Barcelona this is the Lanarkshire quintet’s debut at the Portugese edition, which takes place between June 5th and 7th. Now in its third year the festival started as a mini version of the well established Primavera Sound Festival which started in Barcelona, Spain in 2001. The Catalan version has grown to become an established date on the Spanish festival circuit, now seen as the most important alternative music festival in Spain after the financial problems suffered by the Benicassim festival which caused it to be cancelled in 2014.

The festival in Porto retains a relaxed atmosphere with a reduced capacity and a more compact site and is a welcome addition Iberian festival calendar and another excuse to book a low cost flight and enjoy some Spring sunshine, a few beers and some good tunes.

Other acts appearing include Pixies, The National, Kendrick Lamar, Haim and Television. Also appearing will be the newly reformed Slowdive.


The Optimus Primavera Sound general pass costs 105€ which gives access to three days of music.

The points of sale are:, Atrapalo, Seetickets, Ticketscript, the official website and Facebook page.


Caetano Veloso, Haim, Jagwar Ma, Joana Serrat, Kendrick Lamar, Os Da Cidade, Rodrigo Amarante, Spoon

Bicep, Courtney Barnett, Darkside, Föllakzoid, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, HHY & The Macumbas, John Wizards, Loop, Midlake, Mogwai, Pixies, Pond, Shellac, Sky Ferreira, Slowdive, Television performing Marquee Moon, Todd Terje, Trentemöller, Visions Fortune, Warpaint, You Can’t Win, Charlie Brown

!!! (chk chk chk), Charles Bradley, Cloud Nothings, Dum Dum Girls, Eaux, Glasser, Hebronix, John Grant, Lee Ranaldo & The Dust, Mas Ysa, The National, Neutral Milk Hotel, Pional, Refree, Slint, Speedy Ortiz, St. Vincent, Standstill, Torto, Ty Segall, Yamantaka // Sonic Titan

More at

Comments are closed.